Eligibility Requirements - COCPA Students
page-template-default,page,page-id-21708,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,select-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,select-theme-ver-3.1,vertical_menu_enabled,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.2.1,vc_responsive


Community College Accounting Scholarship Eligibility


  1. The applicant must be enrolled in one of the following programs:
    • Accounting, Associates of Arts Degree
    • Accounting, Associates of Applied Sciences Degree
    • Business Transfer, Associates of Arts Degree
    • Accounting Certificate Program (Accounting Clerk, Bookkeeping, Tax Preparation)
  2. The applicant must be planning to transfer from a two-year college/university to a four-year college/university with the intent to major in accounting and pursue a CPA licensure.
  3. The applicant must have completed 30 credit hours at a two-year college/university.
  4. The applicant must have earned a grade of B or better in one of the qualifying accounting courses at the time of application and earned a B or better in a second qualifying accounting course before scholarship funds will be disbursed. Qualifying accounting courses are ACC121, ACC122, ACC131, or ACC231, or the equivalent thereof.
  5. Applicants must be a United States citizens or permanent resident, living and studying in Colorado. Applicants should intend to practice the profession of accounting in Colorado.


  1. The scholarship awardee must be enrolled full-time (as defined by the institution’s financial aid department) in an accredited four-year college or university.
  2. The scholarship awardee must have earned a B or better in two qualifying accounting courses (see item 4 above).
  3. The scholarship awardee must maintain an overall GPA of 3.0 or better for the first semester (or quarter) in order for any subsequent semester (or quarter) scholarship to be disbursed.
  4. The scholarship awardee must be participating in the Scholars Mentoring Program and have met either in person or virtually with the assigned mentor at least once prior to any subsequent scholarship disbursement.



Merit Scholarship Eligibility

The Educational Foundation of the COCPA was founded in 1958 to provide scholarships to students interested in accounting careers and expecting to practice this profession in Colorado. In the scholarship application process, applicants will be expected to exhibit leadership, achievement, community service, and exposure to the profession.

The Educational Foundation awards scholarships to Colorado residents who are upper division accounting majors at Colorado colleges and universities with accredited accounting programs. Both full-time undergraduate and graduate students are eligible. Scholarships are awarded in August for the fall quarter or semester. Candidates may apply for more than one category.

An accounting program is defined as a degree program in accounting that includes:

  • An undergraduate degree with a major or emphasis in accounting
  • MBA with a concentration in accounting with four classes above the introductory level
  • A specialized master’s degree in accounting

SCHOLARSHIPS are awarded in August for the fall quarter or semester. Funds are paid directly to the school and may be applied to textbooks, tuition and fees, and dormitory room and board.


  1. The applicant must be a Student Member of the Colorado Society of CPAs.
  2. The applicant must be a student with a declared accounting major; or a student who is pursuing a degree with an accounting emphasis.
  3. The applicant must have completed at least 9 semester/12 quarter hours of accounting courses above the introductory level.
  4.  Applicants must be classified as full time students as defined by their institutions.
  1. Applicants must attend a Colorado college or university with an accredited accounting program. An accredited accounting program must meet the requirements stated by the Colorado State Board of Accountancy in Rule 2.2.A:
  • A. A college or university is deemed an “accredited college or university” under Sections 12-2-109(1)(b) and 12-2-109(2)(a), C.R.S., if the college or university is accredited by one of the 6 accrediting agencies or its successor agency as follows: Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools, North Central Association of Colleges and Schools, New England Association of Schools and Colleges, Northwest Association of Schools and Colleges, Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, and Western Association of Schools and Colleges. “Accredited Baccalaureate Granting College” for the purposes of these Rules means a college or university: (1) that is deemed accredited under this Rule 2.2.A and (2) that offers a Baccalaureate Degree or higher degree.
  1. Applicants must enroll in a Colorado state-supported or not-for-profit college or university with a physical Colorado campus. The following colleges and universities are eligible:
    • Adams State University
    • Colorado Christian University
    • Colorado Mesa University
    • Colorado Mountain College
    • Colorado State University – Fort Collins
    • Colorado State University – Global Campus
    • Colorado State University – Pueblo
    • Columbia College – Colorado campuses
    • Fort Lewis College
    • Metropolitan State University of Denver
    • Regis University
    • University of Colorado – Boulder
    • University of Colorado – Colorado Springs
    • University of Colorado – Denver
    • University of Denver
    • University of Northern Colorado
    • Western Colorado University
  2. The applicant’s college or university cumulative grade point average must be 3.25 or higher on a 4.0 scale, based on grades from all schools attended that will be included in the final degree program. The applicant’s accounting GPA must be 3.25 or higher on a 4.0 scale, based on grades from all schools where college-level accounting courses have been taken.
  3. Applicants may apply each year. No preference is given to students who have already received a scholarship. There is no restriction on the number of awards. Only one award may be granted per scholarship cycle.
  4. Applicants may apply for more than one category (General Scholarship, Mark J. Smith Scholarship, etc.).
  5. Applicants must be United States citizens or permanent residents, living and studying in Colorado. Applicants should intend to practice the profession of accounting in Colorado.
  6. The Mark J. Smith Scholarship is based on academics and financial need. Applicants must display financial need, and special consideration will be given to applicants who either come from a single parent background or are attending college as a single parent.
  7. Due to the restrictions of Colorado Constitutional Amendment 41, the Educational Foundation can award only General Scholarships to applicants who are public officers, members of the Colorado General Assembly, local government officials, government employees, or their spouses or dependent children. These restrictions may not apply to certain home rule counties or home rule municipalities.